BASEL, AD 20–1815

Archaeology at
St. Alban-Graben

From 2018 to 2021, construction of the Kunstmuseum carpark was monitored by the Archaeological Service of Canton Basel Stadt. The finds from the archaeological investigations provided a fascinating insight into the history of Basel.

The excavations at St. Alban-Graben brought to light the remains of two Roman well shafts. Probably in combination with cisterns, wells such as these guaranteed a steady supply of water for the Roman-period settlement. The bottoms of both newly discovered wells were found 13 m (almost 43 feet) below the present-day surface. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
As well as partial skeletons of horses and dogs, remains of at least three adults and two infants were found in one of the Roman wells. Although human skeletal remains have also come to light at other Roman sites, we have not been able to solve the mystery of whether these were special burials or whether the dead were just “discarded”. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
A lancehead, whose tip had been broken off in Antiquity, came to light in the same well shaft that contained the animal bones and human remains. The two wells were infilled some time in the Roman period, when they fell into disuse. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
From the 1st century AD onwards, a settlement grew up in the area of what is now Freie Strasse, Rittergasse and Dufourstrasse. At the time it was situated on the Roman arterial road, which ran alongside the River Rhine all the way to the North Sea. Fragments of ceramic vessels such as this bowl from the South of France attest to the far-flung trade networks that existed in Roman times. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
In Late Antiquity, a fortification wall was built around Basel’s Münsterhügel hill. The site was used as a garrison for military units and as a refuge for the civilian population. An archaeological investigation of the area outside of the fortifications brought to light 101 Late Roman coins. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The coins retrieved during the excavation suggest that a suburb (in Latin suburbium) existed outside of the Late Roman fortifications. Its buildings were probably made of timber; because wood decays in the ground, no remains of houses have survived the passage of time. Photo: ABBS, Fabian Bubendorf.
Antoninianus of Tetricus (AD 271-274). Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.

This is where we excavated

St. Alban-Graben
CH-4051 Basel

The name of the street, “St. Alban-Graben” ( in English St. Alban’s Ditch ), reminds us that this was where the defensive ditch of the early 13th century inner city wall was once located. Construction of a new carpark at the Kunstmuseum required deep intrusions into the ground, both at the site of the former city moat and in an area directly adjacent to it, which had been developed since the Roman period.

Although a massive trench was cut into the Roman-period features when the inner city wall and its moat were built in the Middle Ages, archaeologists were able to record the final remnants of the Roman settlement, which had existed from the 1st century onwards in front of where the Kunstmuseum stands today. What came as quite a surprise was the discovery of two dry-wall Roman shafts beneath the medieval city moat at a depth of 7 m (23 feet). Originally used as wells, the shafts were later filled with partial skeletons of horses and dogs and even human remains.

Remnants of the medieval city wall, or so-called inner city wall, were uncovered in various locations during the construction project beneath the footpath and the façades of the present-day houses on the side of the street facing Münsterhügel hill. The skeleton of a Barbary macaque, which came to light in a latrine tower built onto the city wall, was a sensational find. The animal had been kept as a pet in the Middle Ages. Healed bone fractures and traces of inflammation suggest that it was rather ill-treated.

Several fragments of tombstones found during the excavation came from the cemetery of Basel’s first Jewish community, which was located at Petersplatz square. The persecution of Jews following an outbreak of bubonic plague in 1348/49 led to the community being crushed and driven out of the city; the cemetery was destroyed, and the tombstones reused as covering slabs for the countermure (the retaining wall of the city moat). When the moat was abandoned, the tombstones were removed and reused a second time to build drainage shafts at St. Alban-Graben in 1815. This was where they were discovered by the archaeologists.

The monkey skeleton will be on display in the Historisches Museum Basel from 21st January to 22nd May 2022 as part of an exhibition entitled “animalistic!”, a collaborative exhibition staged by various Basel museums.

Read more

Find out more about the results of the excavation (in German only).

Read more

Find out more about excavations of the Archaeological Service of Basel Stadt (in German only).

Read more

The free audio guide app by the Archaeological Service of Basel Stadt shows you around four original sites from the Celtic, Roman and medieval periods of Basel’s history, where archaeological information points have been set up.

Read more
The inner city wall was a visible part of the cityscape until quite late in the 19th century and still survives indirectly in some of the street names and in a number of streets that follow its original course. The St. Alban-Graben, the Leonhardsgraben and the Petersgraben all recall the city moats that were once located there, with “Graben” being the German word for “ditch”. The inner city wall was 10 to 13 m (33 to 43 feet) high. Its last remnants were uncovered in various locations during the construction project beneath the footpath and the façades of the present-day houses on the side of the street that faces Münsterhügel hill. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Like many other medieval cities, Basel grew in concentric circles around an old core and had several medieval fortifications, the oldest two of which were located at today’s St. Alban-Graben. Most of the surviving features, however, belonged to the inner city wall, which was built between 1200 and 1250. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
As well as gates, the inner city wall also had several towers, some of which were added at a later date. One of these was a square tower used as a latrine. Its remains were discovered outside the Credit Suisse building. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The St. Alban’s diaphragm arch (St. Alban-Schwibbogen) was a gateway tower in the inner city wall located at the entrance to Rittergasse lane. View of St. Alban’s diaphragm arch with the “German House” as seen from St. Alban-Vorstadt. Watercolour by J. J. Schneider (probably after J. J. Neustück), 1800–1850. Painting: StABS Bild Schn. 54.
From 1784, the St. Alban-Graben was infilled and, over the course of the 19th and 20th centuries, what was left of the city wall was either demolished or incorporated into new buildings. The gates or arches were demolished, the Aeschenschwibbogen in 1841 and the St. Alban-Schwibbogen in 1878. View of Rittergasse lane from St. Alban-Vorstadt after the arch had been demolished. Photo: StABS Bild 2, 115.
One of the highlights of the excavations was the discovery of a monkey skeleton in a medieval latrine tower built onto the inner city wall. Evidence of monkeys from before 1500 are rarely found and usually consist of a few isolated bones. The latrine tower in Basel was so narrow that it had to be excavated manually, one bucket at a time. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Pet monkeys could wreak havoc when left unsupervised. Images such as this one on a tapestry from Cluny show monkeys on leashes or chains that have a large weight attached to the other end to restrict their movement. Deposits and discolorations on the skeleton suggest that the Basel monkey was also tethered in some way. Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée de Cluny – musée national du Moyen Âge, Michel Urtado).
The monkey skeleton was almost completely preserved. Missing parts including some of the finger bones and a few ribs either decayed in the ground or were not recovered during the excavation. This means that a complete cadaver was disposed of in the latrine. The skeleton tells us a lot about the monkey and its condition. Its canine teeth, for instance, show that it was male and the surfaces of its joints indicate that it was between 6 and 8 years of age. Diseases and injuries, including a healed rib fracture and a healed comminuted fracture of the upper jaw bone can also be seen. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Latrines were used, not just as toilets, but also for the disposal of refuse. The latrine tower at St. Alban-Graben was no different; as well as the monkey skeleton, it also contained cooking vessels, broken glass, stove tiles and food waste. Thanks to a relatively soft landing, six pots, which were discarded either during alteration work at the property or when its owners moved away, even survived the 10-metre drop into the latrine tower intact. The pottery and the stove tiles that were found lying on top of the monkey bones allowed us to date the animal’s death to between 1350 and 1450. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The tombstones found at St. Alban-Graben came from the cemetery of Basel’s first Jewish community, which was located at Petersplatz square. Because the Jews were blamed for the outbreak of bubonic plague in 1348/49, the community was crushed and driven out of the city, the cemetery was destroyed, and the tombstones reused as covering slabs for the countermure (the retaining wall of the city moat). When the city moat became defunct in the 19th century, the tombstones were reused a second time to build drainage shafts. The tombstone shown here was the only one that still bore a legible name. Apparently it was the tombstone of Hannah, who lived in Basel more than 700 years ago. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The ten fragments of sandstone tombstones found during the recent excavations had been used as building blocks in two drainage shafts constructed at St. Alban-Graben between 1815 and 1820. To ensure stability, the builders needed to use high-quality stone blocks of uniform size – and the tombstones fitted the bill. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
The tombstone fragments were brought to the Archaeological Service’s stone depot, where they were cleaned and studied in an attempt to decipher their inscriptions. Since the late 19th century, some 50 Jewish tombstones from the Middle Ages have come to light during construction work or in archaeological excavations throughout Basel. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.

Wir sichern der Vergangenheit

die Zukunft

Die Archäologische Bodenforschung Basel-Stadt ist eine kantonale Fachstelle. Sie setzt sich für die Sicherung und die Pflege des archäologischen Erbes des Kantons ein.

Eine Zeitreise durch 3000 Jahre Basel. Die App der Archäologischen Bodenforschung «Archaeo Tour».

Google Play App Store

Archäologische Bodenforschung
des Kantons Basel-Stadt
Petersgraben 11, 4051 Basel
+41 61 267 23 55
arch.bodenforschung@bs.ch

www.archaeologie.bs.ch

BÂLE, DE 20 À 1815 APR. J.-C.

Archéologie au St. Alban-Graben

La construction du parking du Musée des Beaux-Arts a conduit le service archéologique du canton de Bâle-Ville à assurer un suivi des travaux entre 2018 et 2021. Le mobilier archéologique mis au jour à cette occasion livre de nombreux renseignements sur l’histoire de la ville de Bâle

Lors des fouilles archéologiques menées au St. Alban-Graben, on a découvert les vestiges de deux puits romains. À l’époque romaine, ces structures servaient à alimenter la ville en eau; il existait probablement aussi des citernes. Le fond de ces deux puits se trouvait à une profondeur de treize mètres sous le niveau de la route actuelle. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
Dans les puits romains, on a trouvé des ossements de chevaux et de chiens, mais aussi des éléments du squelette appartenant à au moins trois personnes adultes et à deux nourrissons. Dans d’autres sites romains, on a aussi découvert des squelettes humains dans des puits. On ignore s’il s’agit d’un mode d’inhumation spécifique ou d’un moyen d’«évacuer» les défunts. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
Dans le puits recelant des ossements humains mêlés à ceux d’animaux, on a aussi retrouvé un pointe de lance, dont l’extrémité s’était brisée déjà durant l’Antiquité. Les puits tombés en désuétude ont été rebouchés à l’époque romaine déjà. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Dès le 1er siècle apr. J.-C., un habitat se développe dans la zone située entre la Freie Strasse, la Rittergasse et la Dufourstrasse. Il se trouvait sur la voie romaine qui menait jusqu’à la mer du nord, en longeant le Rhin. Certains tessons de récipients en céramique, comme ces écuelles venues du sud de la France, attestent de contacts commerciaux à longue distance dès l’époque romaine. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Durant l’Antiquité tardive, la colline de la cathédrale de Bâle était ceinte d’un rempart. Il abritait des unités militaires et protégeait la population civile. Lors des fouilles archéologiques menées dans l’avantterrain de cette fortification, on a retrouvé 101 monnaies romaines datant du Bas Empire. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Les monnaies retrouvées en fouille témoignent de l’existence d’un faubourg (suburbium) situé à l’exétrieur de la fortification du Bas Empire. Les bâtiments, sans doute en bois, n’ont pas résisté à l’usure du temps, et on n’en a retrouvé aucune trace. Photo: ABBS, Fabian Bubendorf.
Antoninien de Tetricus (271-274 apr. J.-C.). Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.

C’est ici que nous avons fouillé

St. Alban-Graben
CH-4051 Basel

Le nom de la rue, «St. Alban-Graben», rappelle l’existence d’un fossé défensif rattaché à la muraille intérieure protégeant la ville, érigée ici au début du 13e siècle. La construction du parking du Musée des Beaux-Arts s’accompagnait d’excavations à une profondeur importante, tant dans la zone de l’ancien fossé que dans celle qui le jouxte, occupée dès l’époque romaine.

Dès le Moyen Âge, la construction de la muraille intérieure, et plus particulièrement la tranchée du fossé, ont creusé un véritable couloir à travers les structures romaines. Malgré tout, les derniers vestiges de l’occupation romaine qui se dressait dès le 1er siècle devant le Musée des Beaux-Arts ont pu être documentés. Quelle ne fut pas la surprise de découvrir deux puits romains en pierres sèches, mis au jour sous le fossé médiéval de la ville, à sept mètres de profondeur. Dans ces puits se trouvaient des squelettes de chevaux et de chiens, mais aussi des restes humains.

Durant le chantier, des vestiges du rempart médiéval, appelé muraille intérieure, ont été dégagés à de nombreux endroits. Ils se trouvaient du côté de la rue donnant sur la cathédrale, sous le trottoir ou sous les façades des maisons actuelles. Dans une tour servant de latrines, accolée au rempart, on a fait une découverte hors du commun: le squelette d’un macaque de Barbarie qui, durant le Moyen Âge, avait servi d’animal domestique. Des fractures osseuses guéries et les traces d’inflammations trahissent une attitude ne respectant guère les besoins d’un tel animal.

Plusieurs fragments de stèles funéraires proviennent du cimetière de la première communauté juive de Bâle, qui se trouvait autrefois sur le Petersplatz. Lors des pogroms qui ont éclaté lors de l’épidémie de peste noire de 1348/1349, la communauté juive a été massacrée ou chassée de la ville. Le cimetière fut dévasté et les stèles funéraires remployées comme dalles de couverture pour le mur de contre-escarpe (mur soutenant le fossé de la ville). Après l’abandon du fossé de la ville, ces dalles ont été intégrées vers 1815 à des puits de drainage situés au St. Alban-Graben, où on les a retrouvées lors des fouilles.

Du 21 janvier au 22 mai 2022, le squelette de singe sera exposé dans la vitrine du foyer du Musée d’Histoire de Bâle. L’exposition, intitulée «bestial!», est consacrée aux animaux et issue de la coopération entre plusieurs musées bâlois.

En savoir plus

En savoir plus sur les résultats des fouilles (seulement en allemand)

En savoir plus

En savoir plus sur les fouilles archéologiques dans le canton de Bâle-Ville (seulement en allemand)

En savoir plus

L’application-guide audio gratuite du service archéologique vous entraîne sur quatre sites celtiques, romains et médiévaux qui ont forgé l’histoire de Bâle, et vous y font découvrir les points d’information.

En savoir plus
Jusqu’à la fin du 19e siècle, la muraille intérieure était encore bien tangible dans la ville; si les murs ont aujourd’hui disparu, l’orientation des rues et leurs noms évoquent encore le rempart. Des noms comme St. Alban-Graben, Leonhardsgraben ou Petersgraben rappellent l’existence des fossés de la ville. La muraille intérieure atteignait une hauteur de 10 à 13 m. Les derniers vestiges de ce rempart se trouvent ajourd’hui encore du côté de la route donnant sur la colline de la cathédrale sous le trottoir, ou sous les façades des maisons actuelles; ils ont été en partie dégagés lors des travaux de construction. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Comme bien d’autres villes médiévales, Bâle s’est agrandie par cercles concentriques autour d’un noyau ancien, avec plusieurs remparts médiévaux. Au St. Alban-Graben passait autrefois le plus ancien des deux murs d’enceinte. Mais c’est essentiellement la muraille intérieure, érigée entre 1200 et 1250, qui est conservée jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
La muraille intérieure était percée de portes d’accès à la ville et disposait de très nombreuses tours, dont certaines n’ont été réalisées qu’après la construction du rempart. C’est sans doute le cas de la tour carrée dont les vestiges ont pu être documentés à la hauteur du bâtiment de Credit Suisse, et qui abritaient des latrines. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
À l’entrée de la Rittergasse se trouvait autrefois un arc, le «St. Alban-Schwibbogen», une tour-porte appartenant à la muraille intérieure. Vue sur l’arc avec la maison dite «Deutsches Haus», depuis la St. Alban-Vorstadt. Aquarelle de J. J. Schneider (sans doute d’après J. J. Neustück), 1800–1850. Illustration: StABS Bild Schn. 54.
Le fossé du St. Alban-Graben fut comblé à partir de 1784. Au cours du 19e et du 20e siècle, on a démantelé les parties du rempart en élévation, ou on les a intégrées aux nouveaux édifices. Les portes ont été démolies, en 1841 l’Aeschenschwibbogen, et en 1878 le St. Alban-Schwibbogen. Vue en direction de la Rittergasse depuis le St. Alban-Vorstadt, après le démantèlement du St. Alban-Schwibbogen. Photo: StABS Bild 2, 115.
La découverte a fait sensation: lors de la fouille d’une tour médiévale servant de latrines, accolée à la muraille intérieure, un squelette de singe a été mis à jour . En Europe, il est extrêmement rare de découvrir des restes de primates antérieurs à 1500; souvent, il ne s’agit que d’ossements isolés. Dans la tour, l’espace était si restreint qu’il a fallu évacuer le sédiment à la main, seau après seau. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Les singes qu’on gardait chez soi comme animaux domestiques pouvaient causer de gros dégâts lorsqu’ils n’étaient pas surveillés. L’iconographie montre souvent des singes attachés, ou équipés d’une chaîne accrochée à un poids entravant leur liberté de mouvement, comme on l’observe sur cette tapisserie. Sur le squelette, divers indices révèlent que le singe bâlois était lui aussi attaché. Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée de Cluny – musée national du Moyen Âge, Michel Urtado).
Le squelette de singe est presque entièrement conservé. Si certains éléments comme quelques phalanges ou côtes n’ont pas été retrouvés, c’est parce qu’ils se sont désagrégés dans le sol ou qu’ils n’ont pas été repérés en fouille. On peut en déduire que le cadavre a été évacué dans les latrines en une seule fois . Le squelette fournit de nombreux renseignements sur le primate et sur son état de santé. Les canines par exemple indiquent qu’il s’agit d’un mâle, et les surfaces articulaires permettent d’établir que l’animal est décédé à un âge entre 6 et 8 ans. On observe également des traces dues à des maladies ou par des blessures, comme des fractures guéries au niveau des côtes ou une fracture multiple du maxillaire. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Si les latrines servaient en premier lieu de toilettes, on y évacuait aussi des déchets. Dans la tour découverte au St. Alban-Graben, on s’est débarrassé du cadavre du singe, mais aussi de céramique culinaire, de verres cassés, de carreaux de poêles et de déchets de cuisine. Six récipients jetés dans les latrines étaient encore complets malgré une chute de 10 mètres, grâce à un atterrissage tout en douceur sur le substrat mou accumulé au fond. Ils ont été évacués dans les latrines dans le cadre de travaux de transformation du bâtiment, ou lors du départ des propriétaires. La céramique et les carreaux de poêle qui se trouvaient au-dessus du squelette permettent de situer la mort du singe entre 1350 et 1450. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Les pierres tombales mises au jour au St. Alban-Graben proviennent du cimetière où étaient ensevelis les membres de la première communauté juive, sur le Petersplatz. La communauté fut massacrée et les survivants chassés par les habitants, qui rendaient les Juifs responsables de l’épidémie de peste noire qui sévit en 1348/1349. Le cimetière fut dévasté et les pierres tombales récupérées comme dalles de couverture pour le mur de contre-escarpe (mur soutenant le fossé de la ville). Après l’abandon du fossé au 19e siècle, les pierres tombales ont été remployées dans des puits de drainage. La stèle illustrée est la seule sur laquelle on puisse déchiffrer un nom: Hannah. Elle vécut à Bâle il y a plus de 700 ans. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Les dix fragments de pierres tombales en grès retrouvés en fouille ont été intégrés à des puits de drainage construits entre 1815 et 1820 au St. Alban-Graben. Afin d’obtenir une voûte stable, on avait pris soin d’utiliser des pierres de bonne qualité et de dimensions régulières, critères que remplissaient les pierres tombales. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
Les fragments de pierres tombales ont été nettoyés, déchiffrés et lus dans les réserves du service archéologique. Depuis la fin du 19e siècle, près de 50 pierres tombales juives datant du Moyen Âge ont été retrouvées à Bâle. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.

Wir sichern der Vergangenheit

die Zukunft

Die Archäologische Bodenforschung Basel-Stadt ist eine kantonale Fachstelle. Sie setzt sich für die Sicherung und die Pflege des archäologischen Erbes des Kantons ein.

Eine Zeitreise durch 3000 Jahre Basel. Die App der Archäologischen Bodenforschung «Archaeo Tour».

Google Play App Store

Archäologische Bodenforschung
des Kantons Basel-Stadt
Petersgraben 11, 4051 Basel
+41 61 267 23 55
arch.bodenforschung@bs.ch

www.archaeologie.bs.ch