BASEL, AD 20–1815

Archaeology at
St. Alban-Graben

From 2018 to 2021, construction of the Kunstmuseum carpark was monitored by the Archaeological Service of Canton Basel Stadt. The finds from the archaeological investigations provided a fascinating insight into the history of Basel.

The excavations at St. Alban-Graben brought to light the remains of two Roman well shafts. Probably in combination with cisterns, wells such as these guaranteed a steady supply of water for the Roman-period settlement. The bottoms of both newly discovered wells were found 13 m (almost 43 feet) below the present-day surface. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
As well as partial skeletons of horses and dogs, remains of at least three adults and two infants were found in one of the Roman wells. Although human skeletal remains have also come to light at other Roman sites, we have not been able to solve the mystery of whether these were special burials or whether the dead were just “discarded”. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
A lancehead, whose tip had been broken off in Antiquity, came to light in the same well shaft that contained the animal bones and human remains. The two wells were infilled some time in the Roman period, when they fell into disuse. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
From the 1st century AD onwards, a settlement grew up in the area of what is now Freie Strasse, Rittergasse and Dufourstrasse. At the time it was situated on the Roman arterial road, which ran alongside the River Rhine all the way to the North Sea. Fragments of ceramic vessels such as this bowl from the South of France attest to the far-flung trade networks that existed in Roman times. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
In Late Antiquity, a fortification wall was built around Basel’s Münsterhügel hill. The site was used as a garrison for military units and as a refuge for the civilian population. An archaeological investigation of the area outside of the fortifications brought to light 101 Late Roman coins. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The coins retrieved during the excavation suggest that a suburb (in Latin suburbium) existed outside of the Late Roman fortifications. Its buildings were probably made of timber; because wood decays in the ground, no remains of houses have survived the passage of time. Photo: ABBS, Fabian Bubendorf.
Antoninianus of Tetricus (AD 271-274). Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.

This is where we excavated

St. Alban-Graben
CH-4051 Basel

The name of the street, “St. Alban-Graben” ( in English St. Alban’s Ditch ), reminds us that this was where the defensive ditch of the early 13th century inner city wall was once located. Construction of a new carpark at the Kunstmuseum required deep intrusions into the ground, both at the site of the former city moat and in an area directly adjacent to it, which had been developed since the Roman period.

Although a massive trench was cut into the Roman-period features when the inner city wall and its moat were built in the Middle Ages, archaeologists were able to record the final remnants of the Roman settlement, which had existed from the 1st century onwards in front of where the Kunstmuseum stands today. What came as quite a surprise was the discovery of two dry-wall Roman shafts beneath the medieval city moat at a depth of 7 m (23 feet). Originally used as wells, the shafts were later filled with partial skeletons of horses and dogs and even human remains.

Remnants of the medieval city wall, or so-called inner city wall, were uncovered in various locations during the construction project beneath the footpath and the façades of the present-day houses on the side of the street facing Münsterhügel hill. The skeleton of a Barbary macaque, which came to light in a latrine tower built onto the city wall, was a sensational find. The animal had been kept as a pet in the Middle Ages. Healed bone fractures and traces of inflammation suggest that it was rather ill-treated.

Several fragments of tombstones found during the excavation came from the cemetery of Basel’s first Jewish community, which was located at Petersplatz square. The persecution of Jews following an outbreak of bubonic plague in 1348/49 led to the community being crushed and driven out of the city; the cemetery was destroyed, and the tombstones reused as covering slabs for the countermure (the retaining wall of the city moat). When the moat was abandoned, the tombstones were removed and reused a second time to build drainage shafts at St. Alban-Graben in 1815. This was where they were discovered by the archaeologists.

The monkey skeleton will be on display in the Historisches Museum Basel from 21st January to 22nd May 2022 as part of an exhibition entitled “animalistic!”, a collaborative exhibition staged by various Basel museums.

Read more

Find out more about the results of the excavation (in German only).

Read more

Find out more about excavations of the Archaeological Service of Basel Stadt (in German only).

Read more

The free audio guide app by the Archaeological Service of Basel Stadt shows you around four original sites from the Celtic, Roman and medieval periods of Basel’s history, where archaeological information points have been set up.

Read more
The inner city wall was a visible part of the cityscape until quite late in the 19th century and still survives indirectly in some of the street names and in a number of streets that follow its original course. The St. Alban-Graben, the Leonhardsgraben and the Petersgraben all recall the city moats that were once located there, with “Graben” being the German word for “ditch”. The inner city wall was 10 to 13 m (33 to 43 feet) high. Its last remnants were uncovered in various locations during the construction project beneath the footpath and the façades of the present-day houses on the side of the street that faces Münsterhügel hill. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Like many other medieval cities, Basel grew in concentric circles around an old core and had several medieval fortifications, the oldest two of which were located at today’s St. Alban-Graben. Most of the surviving features, however, belonged to the inner city wall, which was built between 1200 and 1250. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
As well as gates, the inner city wall also had several towers, some of which were added at a later date. One of these was a square tower used as a latrine. Its remains were discovered outside the Credit Suisse building. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The St. Alban’s diaphragm arch (St. Alban-Schwibbogen) was a gateway tower in the inner city wall located at the entrance to Rittergasse lane. View of St. Alban’s diaphragm arch with the “German House” as seen from St. Alban-Vorstadt. Watercolour by J. J. Schneider (probably after J. J. Neustück), 1800–1850. Painting: StABS Bild Schn. 54.
From 1784, the St. Alban-Graben was infilled and, over the course of the 19th and 20th centuries, what was left of the city wall was either demolished or incorporated into new buildings. The gates or arches were demolished, the Aeschenschwibbogen in 1841 and the St. Alban-Schwibbogen in 1878. View of Rittergasse lane from St. Alban-Vorstadt after the arch had been demolished. Photo: StABS Bild 2, 115.
One of the highlights of the excavations was the discovery of a monkey skeleton in a medieval latrine tower built onto the inner city wall. Evidence of monkeys from before 1500 are rarely found and usually consist of a few isolated bones. The latrine tower in Basel was so narrow that it had to be excavated manually, one bucket at a time. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Pet monkeys could wreak havoc when left unsupervised. Images such as this one on a tapestry from Cluny show monkeys on leashes or chains that have a large weight attached to the other end to restrict their movement. Deposits and discolorations on the skeleton suggest that the Basel monkey was also tethered in some way. Photo: RMN-Grand Palais (musée de Cluny – musée national du Moyen Âge, Michel Urtado).
The monkey skeleton was almost completely preserved. Missing parts including some of the finger bones and a few ribs either decayed in the ground or were not recovered during the excavation. This means that a complete cadaver was disposed of in the latrine. The skeleton tells us a lot about the monkey and its condition. Its canine teeth, for instance, show that it was male and the surfaces of its joints indicate that it was between 6 and 8 years of age. Diseases and injuries, including a healed rib fracture and a healed comminuted fracture of the upper jaw bone can also be seen. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Latrines were used, not just as toilets, but also for the disposal of refuse. The latrine tower at St. Alban-Graben was no different; as well as the monkey skeleton, it also contained cooking vessels, broken glass, stove tiles and food waste. Thanks to a relatively soft landing, six pots, which were discarded either during alteration work at the property or when its owners moved away, even survived the 10-metre drop into the latrine tower intact. The pottery and the stove tiles that were found lying on top of the monkey bones allowed us to date the animal’s death to between 1350 and 1450. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The tombstones found at St. Alban-Graben came from the cemetery of Basel’s first Jewish community, which was located at Petersplatz square. Because the Jews were blamed for the outbreak of bubonic plague in 1348/49, the community was crushed and driven out of the city, the cemetery was destroyed, and the tombstones reused as covering slabs for the countermure (the retaining wall of the city moat). When the city moat became defunct in the 19th century, the tombstones were reused a second time to build drainage shafts. The tombstone shown here was the only one that still bore a legible name. Apparently it was the tombstone of Hannah, who lived in Basel more than 700 years ago. Photo: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
The ten fragments of sandstone tombstones found during the recent excavations had been used as building blocks in two drainage shafts constructed at St. Alban-Graben between 1815 and 1820. To ensure stability, the builders needed to use high-quality stone blocks of uniform size – and the tombstones fitted the bill. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
The tombstone fragments were brought to the Archaeological Service’s stone depot, where they were cleaned and studied in an attempt to decipher their inscriptions. Since the late 19th century, some 50 Jewish tombstones from the Middle Ages have come to light during construction work or in archaeological excavations throughout Basel. Photo: ABBS, Martin Allemann.

Wir sichern der Vergangenheit

die Zukunft

Die Archäologische Bodenforschung Basel-Stadt ist eine kantonale Fachstelle. Sie setzt sich für die Sicherung und die Pflege des archäologischen Erbes des Kantons ein.

Eine Zeitreise durch 3000 Jahre Basel. Die App der Archäologischen Bodenforschung «Archaeo Tour».

Google Play App Store

Archäologische Bodenforschung
des Kantons Basel-Stadt
Petersgraben 11, 4051 Basel
+41 61 267 23 55
arch.bodenforschung@bs.ch

www.archaeologie.bs.ch

BASEL, 20–1815 n. CHR.

Archäologie am St. Alban-Graben

Beim Bau des Parkings Kunstmuseum führte die Archäologische Bodenforschung Basel-Stadt von 2018 bis 2021 baubegleitende Untersuchungen durch. Die Funde ermöglichen erkenntnisreiche Einblicke in die Basler Geschichte.

Bei der Ausgrabung am St. Alban-Graben kamen die Reste von zwei römischen Brunnenschächten zum Vorschein. In römischer Zeit dienten solche Sodbrunnen – vermutlich nebst Zisternen – zur Wasserversorgung Basels. Die Sohle der beiden neu entdeckten Brunnen lag dreizehn Meter unter der heutigen Strasse. Foto: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
In einem der römischen Sodbrunnen fand man nebst Teilskeletten von Pferden und Hunden auch die Knochen von mindestens drei erwachsenen Menschen und zwei Säuglingen. Menschliche Skelette in Brunnenschächten kennt man auch von anderen römischen Fundstellen. Rätselhaft bleibt, ob es sich um besondere Bestattungen oder um eine Art «Entsorgung» von Toten handelt. Foto: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
Im selben Brunnenschacht wie die tierischen und menschlichen Skelettreste kam auch eine Lanzenspitze zum Vorschein, deren oberster Teil schon in der Antike abgebrochen war. Nachdem die beiden Brunnen ihre Funktion verloren hatten, wurden sie bereits in römischer Zeit zugeschüttet. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Ab dem 1. Jahrhundert n. Chr. entwickelte sich im Gebiet zwischen Freie Strasse, Rittergasse und Dufourstrasse eine Siedlung. Sie lag an der römischen Fernstrasse, die dem Rhein entlang bis an die Nordsee führte. Scherben von Keramikgefässen, wie diese Schüssel aus Südfrankreich, bezeugen die weitlaufenden Handelskontakte in römischer Zeit. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
In der Spätantike wurde der Basler Münsterhügel mit einer Befestigungsmauer umwehrt. Er diente als Standort militärischer Einheiten und zum Schutz der Zivilbevölkerung. Bei den archäologischen Untersuchungen im Vorgelände dieser Befestigung kamen 101 spätrömische Münzen zum Vorschein. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Die auf der Ausgrabung geborgenen Münzen weisen darauf hin, dass sich ausserhalb der spätrömischen Befestigung eine Vorstadt (Suburbium) befand. Die Gebäude bestanden wohl aus Holz, das sich im Lauf der Zeit im Boden zersetzt hat. Reste von Gebäuden sind deshalb nicht mehr erhalten. Foto: ABBS, Fabian Bubendorf.
Antoninian des Tetricus (271-274 n. Chr.). Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.

Hier haben wir gegraben

St. Alban-Graben
CH-4051 Basel

Der Strassenname «St. Alban-Graben» erinnert daran, dass hier einst der Verteidigungsgraben der im frühen 13. Jahrhundert errichteten Inneren Stadtmauer lag. Der Neubau des Parkings beim Kunstmuseum führte zu tiefen Bodeneingriffen sowohl im Bereich des ehemaligen Stadtgrabens als auch in einem direkt danebengelegenen Areal, das ab der Römerzeit besiedelt war.

Bereits im Mittelalter hatte der Bau der Inneren Stadtmauer und insbesondere der Aushub des Stadtgrabens eine mächtige Schneise durch die römerzeitlichen Befunde geschlagen. Trotzdem liessen sich vor dem Kunstmuseum letzte Reste der römischen Siedlung fassen, die sich hier ab dem 1. Jahrhundert befand. Weit überraschender war die Entdeckung von zwei trocken gemauerten römischen Schächten, die unterhalb des mittelalterlichen Stadtgrabens in sieben Meter Tiefe aufgedeckt wurden. In den ursprünglich als Brunnen genutzten Schächten befanden sich Teilskelette von Pferden und Hunden, aber auch menschliche Überreste.

Reste der mittelalterlichen, der sogenannten Inneren Stadtmauer wurden während des Bauprojekts an verschiedenen Stellen freigelegt. Sie befand sich auf der dem Münsterhügel zugewandten Strassenseite unter dem Trottoir bzw. unter den heutigen Hausfassaden. In einem an die Stadtmauer angebauten Latrinenturm wurde ein sensationeller Fund entdeckt: das Skelett eines Berberaffen, der im Mittelalter als Haustier gehalten worden war. Verheilte Knochenbrüche und Spuren von Entzündungen zeugen von einer wenig artgerechten Tierhaltung.

Mehrere Fragmente von Grabsteinen stammen vom Friedhof der ersten jüdischen Gemeinde, der sich einst beim Petersplatz befand. Anlässlich der antijüdischen Verfolgungen im Zuge der Pest-Pandemie von 1348/49 wurde die Gemeinde vernichtet und vertrieben. Der Friedhof wurde verwüstet und die Grabsteine als Abdeckplatten für die Kontermauer (Stützmauer des Stadtgrabens) wiederverwendet. Nach der Aufgabe des Stadtgrabens wurden sie um 1815 am St. Alban-Graben in Sickerschächten verbaut, wo sie nun während der Bauarbeiten entdeckt wurden.

Das Affenskelett wird im Rahmen der von verschiedenen Basler Museen realisierten Ausstellungskooperation «tierisch!» vom 21. Januar bis 22. Mai 2022 in der Foyervitrine des Historischen Museums Basel gezeigt.

mehr Infos

In unserer Coverstory erfahren Sie mehr über die Ergebnisse der Ausgrabung.

mehr Infos

Der Ausgrabungsleiter Martin Allemann erzählt von den Herausforderungen einer Grabung unter Tage. Und berichtet von den spannendsten Funden und Befunden, die bei den baubegleitenden Untersuchungen beim St. Alban-Graben zum Vorschein kamen.

Zum You-Tube-Film

Informieren Sie sich hier über Ausgrabungen der Archäologischen Bodenforschung Basel-Stadt

mehr Infos

Laden Sie den App-Audioguide auf Ihr Smartphone und erleben Sie eine Zeitreise durch 3000 Jahre Basel

mehr Infos

Die Innere Stadtmauer war bis weit ins 19. Jahrhundert hinein direkt im Stadtbild präsent und ist es indirekt noch heute über ihr folgende Strassenfluchten und Strassennamen. So erinnern der St. Alban-Graben, der Leonhardsgraben und der Petersgraben an die hier ursprünglich verlaufenden Stadtgräben. Die Innere Stadtmauer war einst 10 bis 13 m hoch. Die letzten Reste dieser Stadtmauer befinden sich noch heute auf der dem Münsterhügel zugewandten Strassenseite unter dem Trottoir bzw. unter den heutigen Hausfassaden und wurden während des Bauprojekts stellenweise freigelegt. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Wie viele mittelalterliche Städte wuchs auch Basel in Etappen ringförmig um einen alten Kern und besass mehrere mittelalterliche Stadtbefestigungen. Beim St. Alban-Graben verliefen einst die ältesten zwei Stadtmauern. Erhalten hat sich aber weitgehend nur noch die zwischen 1200 und 1250 errichtete Innere Stadtmauer. Foto: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
Die Innere Stadtmauer wies nebst Stadttoren auch etliche Türme auf, von denen einige erst nachträglich hinzugefügt worden sind. Dies gilt wohl auch für einen viereckigen Turm, dessen Reste auf der Höhe des Credit Suisse Gebäudes dokumentiert werden konnten und der einst als Latrine gedient hat. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Beim Eingang zur Rittergasse befand sich einst der St. Alban-Schwibbogen, ein Torturm der Inneren Stadtmauer. Blick auf den St. Alban-Schwibbogen mit dem «Deutschen Haus» von der St. Alban-Vorstadt aus gesehen. Aquarell von J. J. Schneider (wohl nach J. J. Neustück), 1800–1850. Bild: StABS Bild Schn. 54.
Der St. Alban-Graben wurde ab 1784 verfüllt. Im Laufe des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts entfernte man dann die aufgehende Stadtmauer oder integrierte sie in neue Gebäude. Die Tore brach man ab – 1841 den Aeschenschwibbogen, 1878 den St. Alban-Schwibbogen. Blick in die Rittergasse von der St. Alban-Vorstadt aus gesehen nach dem Abbruch des St. Alban-Schwibbogens. Foto: StABS Bild 2, 115.
Der Fund eines Affenskeletts in einem an die Innere Stadtmauer angebauten mittelalterlichen Latrinenturm war ein Highlight. Archäologische Nachweise von Affen vor 1500 sind in Europa sehr selten, und meist handelt es sich dabei nur um Einzelknochen. Der Latrinenturm war so eng, dass er Eimer um Eimer von Hand geleert werden musste. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Unbeaufsichtigte Affen, die als Haustiere gehalten wurden, konnten grosse Schäden anrichten. Deshalb waren sie oft angeleint oder trugen, wie auf dieser Tapisserie (Wandteppich) dargestellt, eine Kette mit einem Gewicht, das ihre Bewegungsfreiheit einschränkte. Auflagerungen und Verfärbungen am Skelett liefern Indizien, dass auch der Basler Affe entsprechend angeleint war. Foto: RMN-Grand Palais (musée de Cluny – musée national du Moyen Âge, Michel Urtado).
Das Skelett des Affen ist fast vollständig erhalten. Fehlende Teile, wie einige Fingerknochen und einzelne Rippen, haben sich im Boden zersetzt oder wurden bei der Ausgrabung nicht geborgen. Der Kadaver war daher vollständig, als man ihn in der Latrine entsorgte. Anhand des Skeletts können viele Aussagen zum Affen und seinem Gesundheitszustand gemacht werden. Beispielsweise zeigen die Eckzähne, dass es sich um ein männliches Tier handelt, und die Gelenkflächen, dass der Affe bei seinem Tod 6–8 Jahre alt war. Auch Krankheiten oder Verletzungen, wie etwa ein verheilter Rippenbruch und ein verheilter Trümmerbruch am Oberkiefer sind feststellbar. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Latrinen wurden nicht nur als Toilette benutzt, sondern man entsorgte darin auch Abfall. Im Latrinenturm am St. Alban-Graben fand man nebst dem Kadaver des Affen auch Küchengeschirr, zerbrochene Gläser, Ofenkacheln und Speisereste. Sechs ganze Töpfe haben den 10 Meter tiefen Fall in die Latrine dank weicher Landung sogar unbeschadet überstanden. Sie wurden wohl bei einem Umbau der Liegenschaft oder beim Wegzug der Besitzer in der Latrine entsorgt. Die Keramik und die Ofenkacheln, welche über dem Skelett lagen, erlauben es, den Todeszeitpunkt des Affen zwischen 1350 und 1450 zu bestimmen. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Die am St. Alban-Graben geborgenen Grabsteine stammen vom Friedhof der ersten jüdischen Gemeinde, der sich einst beim Petersplatz befand. Weil man den Juden die Schuld an der Pest-Pandemie von 1348/49 zuschob, wurde die Gemeinde vernichtet und vertrieben, der Friedhof verwüstet und die Grabsteine als Abdeckplatten für die Kontermauer (Stützmauer des Stadtgrabens) zweckentfremdet. Nach der Aufgabe des Stadtgrabens im 19. Jahrhundert verbaute man die Grabsteine in Drittverwendung in Sickerschächten. Einzig auf dem abgebildeten Grabstein lässt sich ein Name entziffern: Hannah. Sie hat vor über 700 Jahren in Basel gelebt. Foto: ABBS, Philippe Saurbeck.
Die in der aktuellen Grabung aufgedeckten zehn Grabsteinfragmente aus Sandstein waren Teil von zwei zwischen 1815 und 1820 errichteten Sickerschächten am St. Alban-Graben. Um ein stabiles Gewölbe zu erhalten, hatte man darauf geachtet, darin qualitativ gute und masshaltige Steine – wie es die Grabsteine sind – zu verbauen. Foto: ABBS, Martin Allemann.
Die Grabsteinfragmente wurden im Steinlager der Archäologischen Bodenforschung gereinigt und entziffert. Insgesamt wurden in der ganzen Stadt Basel seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts bei Bauarbeiten und Grabungen rund 50 jüdische Grabsteine aus dem Mittelalter entdeckt. Foto: ABBS, Martin Allemann.

Wir sichern der Vergangenheit

die Zukunft

Die Archäologische Bodenforschung Basel-Stadt ist eine kantonale Fachstelle. Sie setzt sich für die Sicherung und die Pflege des archäologischen Erbes des Kantons ein.

Eine Zeitreise durch 3000 Jahre Basel. Die App der Archäologischen Bodenforschung «Archaeo Tour».

Google Play App Store

Archäologische Bodenforschung
des Kantons Basel-Stadt
Petersgraben 11, 4051 Basel
+41 61 267 23 55
arch.bodenforschung@bs.ch

www.archaeologie.bs.ch